Djokovic, leader of a Serbia that has its best possible team

Djokovic, leader of a Serbia that has its best possible team

On Monday the members of the 18 teams that will compete in the Davis Cup Finals in Madrid, Innsbruck and Turin from November 25 to December 5 were announced. Hispaniola was one of the first federations announced by his team, which will be made up of Pablo Carreño, Roberto Bautista, Carlos Alcaraz, Marcel Granollers and Feliciano López, the top three in the ranking and two consummate doubles specialists. The best possible team without Rafa Nadal, goes down due to his right foot injury. Serbia later gave their list, with their top five ranked players on the ATP list, including the world’s number one, Novak Djokovic, who will be accompanied by Filip Krajinovic, Dusan Lajovic, Laslo Djere and Miomir Kecmanovic.

Also taking part in the tournament will be number two, Daniil Medvedev, leader of the Russian Federation team., who will also form with Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Karen Khachanov, and Evgeny Donskoy. A powerful line-up that aspires to go far, like Canada, which repeats with Denis Shapovalov, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Brayden Schnur and Peter Polansky.

Italy is another of the countries that has its best men and that aspires to everything in the Finals. Because, in addition, it will initially compete in Turin. They will be in the azzurra Matteo Berrettini, Jannik Sinner, Lorenzo Sonego, Fabio Fognini and Lorenzo Musetti. A great team.

Six major casualties

As for the casualties, in addition to that of Rafa Nadal, who will not be able to be with Spain, those expected from Dominic Thiem in Austria, Alexander Zverev in Germany, Andy Murray in Great Britain (he announced his resignation recently) and Nick Kyrgios in Australia, more than the Gael Monfils in France.

The 18 teams

Group A (Madrid)


Pablo Carreño, Roberto Bautista, Carlos Alcaraz, Feliciano López, Marcel Granollers.

Captain: Sergi Bruguera

Russian Tennis Federation

Daniil Medvedev, Andrey Rublev, Aslan Karatsev, Karen Khachanov, Evgeny Donskoy.

Captain: Shamil Tarpischev


Emilio Gomez, Roberto Quiroz, Diego Hidalgo, Gonzalo Escobar, Cayetano March.

Captain: Raul Viver

Group B (Madrid)


Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Vasek Pospisil, Brayden Schnur, Peter Polansky

Captitan: Frank Dancevic


Alexander Bublik, Mikhail Kukushkin, Dmitry Popko, Aleksandr Nedovyesov, Andrey Golubev

Captain: Yuriy Schukin


Mikael Ymer, Elias Ymer, Jonathan Mridha, André Göransson.

Captain: Robin Soderling

Group C (Innsbruck)


Ugo Humbert, Arthur Rinderknech, Richard Gasquet, Pierre-Hugues Herbert, Nicolas Mahut

Captain: Sébastien Grosjean


Cameron Norrie, Daniel Evans, Joseph Salisbury, Neal Skupski

Captain: Leon Smith

Czech Republic

Jiri Vesely, Tomas Machac, Zdenek KolarJ, iri Lehecka, Lukas Rosol.

Captain: Jaroslav Navratil

Group D (Turin)


Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Borna Gojo, Nikola Mektic, Mate Pavic

Captain: Vedran Martic


Alex de Minaur, John Millman, Jordan Thompson, Alexei Popyrin, John Peers

Captain: Lleyton Hewitt


Marton Fucsovics, Attila Balazs, Zsombor Piros, Fabian Marozsan, Mate Valkusz.

Captain: Gavor Koves

Group E (Turin)


John Isner, Reilly Opelka, Taylor Fritz, Jack Sock, Rajeev Ram.

Captain: Mardy Fish


Matteo Berrettini, Jannik Sinner, Lorenzo Sonego, Fabio Fognini, Lorenzo Mussetti

Captain: Filippo Volandri


Daniel Galán, Nicolás Mejía, Juan Sebastián Cabal, Robert Farah.

Captain: Alejandro Falla

Group F (Innsbruck)


Novak Djokovic, Filip Krajinovic, Dusan Lajovic, Laslo Djere, Miomir Kecmanovic.

Captain: Victor troicki


Jan Lennard Struff, Dominik Koepfer, Peter Gojowczyk, Kevin Krawietz, Tim Pütz.

Captain: Michael Kohlmann


Dennis Novak; Jurij Rodionov; Gerald Melzer; Oliver Marach; Philipp Oswald

Captain: Stefan Koubek

Leave a Comment