Shved (Khimki), Alphonso Ford trophy as top scorer

The Russian exterior of the Khimki Alexey Shved has been awarded the Alphonso Ford trophy to the top scorer in the Euroleague, with an average of 19.8 points per game and it is the second time that he has achieved it after the one achieved in the 2017-18 season.

The Ford Trophy is awarded to the player with the highest scoring average over a minimum number of games, the only award based solely on statistics.

Shved he averaged 21.8 points in the 2017-18 season. He raised his average in the 2018-19 campaign to 23.3 points, but he participated in only 14 games, which prevented him from being a candidate for the award.

Shved is the third multiple winner of the Ford Trophy since it was first awarded in 2005. The other two are Igor Rakocevic, with Tau Cerámica in 2007 and 2009 and with Anadolu Efes Istanbul in 2011; Y Keith Langford with Olimpia Milan in 2014 and UNICS Kazan in 2017. The other winners of the trophy are Nando De Colo from CSKA Moscow (2016); Taylor rochestie from Nizhny Novgorod (2015); Bobby brown (2013) and Bo mccalebb (2012), both from Montepaschi Siena; Linas Kleiza Olympiacos Piraeus (2010); Marc salyers de Chorale Roanne (2008); Drew nicholas by Benetton Treviso (2006); Y Charles smith by Scavolini Pesaro (2005).

The trophy is in memory of the late Alphonso Ford, who passed away from leukemia in September 2004 after a brilliant career in which he was the competition’s top scorer twice, 2000-01 and 2001-02, both seasons with the Olympiacos. Ford he has the best all-time scoring average in the Euroleague with 22.2 points in 54 career games. Shved is fourth (16, 8 ppg.) On that list, behind Panos liadelis (19.3 ppg.) Y Arvydas Macijauskas (17.4 ppg.).

Leave a Comment