Bird and Taurasi to seek their fifth Olympic gold in Tokyo

Sue Bird and Diana Taurasi they go to Tokyo to dispute their fifths Games
Olympics with the women’s basketball team state

The team led by the South Carolina coach, Dawn
Staley, a gold medalist with Team USA in 1996, also includes A’ja Wilson, who played with the Gamecocks under the direction of Staley and was the MVP of the WNBA in 2020 with Aces from Las Vegas.

The women’s team of state
United has won six consecutive gold medals, from the team of Staley at 96. The loaded list does not include some of the best players in the WNBA, such as former MVP Elena Delle
Donne (Washington Mystics) and Los Angeles forward Sparks Nneka Ogwumike.

“USA Basketball has never been in a better place,” he said. Staley. “I am honored to coach such an incredible collection of talented women, both those who have been named to the team and those who have given their all in recent years but who will not be with us in Tokyo.”

“The fact that some of the players who will not dress this summer would make headlines in any other country is a testament to their talent and what USES
Basketball he has done to build a program that elevates our athletes every day ”.

Minnesota Lynx forward Sylvia
Fowles She was named to the team for the fourth time and the three-time Olympian Tub
Charles (Mystics) is also back in pursuit of another medal. Ariel
Atkins, Mystics escort, Jewell escort Loyd (Seattle) and Lynx Napheesa forward Collier are some of those chosen for the first time in the United States team.

Bird, 40 years old, and Taurasi, 39, played together in the UConn and the university students have had championship races in the WNBA. Her fifth Olympic team in women’s basketball ties the record shared by American Teresa Edwards and the Brazilian Adriana Moses.

UConn is well represented with five players on the roster: Bird, Taurasi, Collier, Charles and the Seattle forward Breanna

Staley She has won the gold medal as a player three times and has been an assistant coach on the gold medal-winning team of the United States twice.

Leave a Comment