New York reaps the title it lacked in sports: NYCFC wins the MLS Cup 2021

NNew York he has finally managed to obtain the title that he lacked at the sporting level. Thanks to the New York City FC championship, the Big Apple already has at least one crown in the major league in football in the United States.

Although the Red Bulls have four Supporters Shields, they had never taken over the MLS Cup. Now the turn came for the ‘Citizens’, who liquidated Portland Timbers on penalties to end the negative inertia of the visitors and lift his first championship.

The MLS was the only pending for the city. But the NYCFC delivered in a great way, So you can now sit at the same table as the iconic teams from the Big Apple.

The Yankees, of course, are the winningest team in town. The ‘Bronx Bombers’ so far have 27 World Series titles; despite dragging a drought since 2009 without winning the Fall Classic.

These are the Yankees’ championships: 1923, 1927, 1928, 1932, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1943, 1947, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1956, 1958, 1961, 1962, 1977, 1978, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2009.

On the other hand, the New York Mets have consolidated their history in the Major Leagues with a pair of World Series; being that of 1969 and 1986.

The NBA has also seen the New York Knicks champion twice. The Big Apple quintet owns two Larry O’Brien Trophies. But to his misfortune they both occurred in 1970 and 1973, for what they have already added almost 50 years since the last championship of the team.

Meanwhile on the NHL grounds, the two teams from New York have won the Stanley Cup. They both own four of the titles; Although they have not achieved it for a long time.

Leave a Comment