Formula 1 makes the sprint classification official in three Grands Prix this season

Emilia Romagna GP start

Emilia Romagna GP start
Emilia Romagna GP start
AFP7 via Europa Press

The Formula 1 has confirmed that this year they will be disputed three grand prizes with Sprint Classification and has established the conditions of this new format that will be used in two races on European soil and a third on another continent and that it will distribute points for the three first classified.

“Formula 1 will debut with the Sprint Qualifying format in three Grands Prix in 2021 after the agreement reached between the FIA, Formula 1 and the 10 teams on the grid, with two European and one non-European venues to host the format. Those three venues will be announced in due course.“F1 explained in a statement.

The new format will replace the regular grading session and will be based on a 100 kilometer fast run which will decide the grid for Sunday’s race. At the same time, the starting grid for the Sprint Classification will be decided on Friday using the usual grading format.

Furthermore, F1 confirmed that the top three finishers in Saturday’s Sprint Classification will receive points valid for the World Cup: three points for the first, two points for the second and one point for the third.

  • Fernando Alonso, during the Bahrain GP race

    The revolution of the new sprint races in Formula 1, the new format that will be tested this season

    David Sánchez de Castro

“We’re excited with this new opportunity that will give our fans an even more attractive racing weekend in 2021. See the drivers fighting for three days will be an incredible experience and I am sure that the pilots will enjoy the fight, “said the president and CEO of Formula 1, Stefano Domenicali, in a statement.

Leave a Comment