Davis Cup 2021: venues, how it works, rules and format

Davis Cup 2021: venues, how it works, rules and format

Two years later, due to the cancellation suffered in 2020 due to the pandemic, the Davis Cup Finals. From November 25 to December 5, the greatest show of tennis by nations in the world will bring together many great stars of the planet to the delight of fans. All this, with a few changes introduced for this edition of 2021 which we review below.


The premiere of the Davis Cup Finals in 2019 took place entirely in Madrid, but for this occasion, the round robin The group stage of this final stage will take place in three locations simultaneously: Madrid, Innsbruck (Austria) and Turin (Italy).

-During this competition period, the Madrid Arena It will be the stage where the action of Groups A and B takes place. The installation is located in the Casa de Campo enclosure in the capital of Spain, a stage that from 2002 to 2008 hosted the Masters 1000 in Madrid, as well as others many sporting events.

-The OlympiaWorld in Innsbruck It will be the sports facility where the matches corresponding to Groups C and F. are played. The facility is the city’s sports and cultural epicenter and hosts a large number of events throughout the year.

-The imposing Pala Alpitour Arena, With a capacity for 18,500 spectators, it will be the stage where Groups D and E compete. The pavilion is located south of Turin, very close to the Olympic Stadium, it was inaugurated in 2005 and the ice hockey competition of the Games was played there. Winter Olympics Turin 2006. Last week it also hosted the ATP Finals of the men’s circuit.

Rules and format

The Davis Cup Finals are made up of 18 teams divided into six groups of three teams each. The different groups have been formed as follows:

-12 winners of the 2020 qualifying round (Germany, Australia, Austria, Colombia, Croatia, Ecuador, United States, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Czech Republic and Sweden)

-The semifinalists of the last edition (2019): Spain, Canada, Great Britain, and Russia.

-Two invited countries: France and Serbia.


Davis Cup 2021 format.

At the end of the group stage, the six teams that finish leaders of their group advance to the quarterfinals with the two best seconds (see graph).

Leave a Comment