Corbin Burnes and Robbie Ray, Cy Young winners in the Major Leagues

Robbie Ray, Toronto Blue Jays left-hander rebounded after a lousy season. Corbin Burnes, The Milwaukee Brewers right-hander recovered after contracting COVID-19.

Both won the Cy Young trophy on Wednesday.

In the Year of the Pitcher, Burnes led the majors with a 2.43 ERA, while Ray had the fewest ERA. admitted to the American League, with 2.84.

They both also achieved outstanding strikeout figures, with which they reinforced their arguments before the students of the statistics of the new era but also before those who privilege the more traditional numbers.

Burnes edged out Zack Wheeler of Philadelphia for the award. The two received 12 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers Association of North America (BBWAA). Max Scherzer ranked third.

Burnes was the first Milwaukee pitcher to win the award in the National League. Pete Vuckovich in 1982 and Rollie Figers in 1981 had won the trophy while the Brewers were still playing in the American League.

Ray became Toronto’s first awarded pitcher since Roy Halladay earned the Cy Young in 2003.

In the american league the trophy to Ray capped an astonishing rebound.

Leave a Comment